The Historical Society of Hilltown Township is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization, and was founded in 1975 by Jack Fox, a long-time resident of the township. Its mission is to promote interest in the historical heritage of our township and to preserve documents and artifacts. In 1980, the society was deeded the Strassburger Farmstead, a complex of 3 buildings on 5 acres. This began our efforts to restore the site, a task which continues today. Our Federal Style red brick building and summer kitchen were constructed in 1830 for the Hartzell family. At the time, the property consisted of about 42 acres. The bank barn dates from around the same time. In 1849, the site was purchased by Rueben and Elizabeth Strassburger, probably using a dowry from her father. Immediately, an addition was built that housed a general store, fronting Bethlehem Pike. Strassburger by trade was a store-keeper. One of the downstairs rooms served as a shoe-shop. Visit us and take a walk through our buildings to feel the history of Hilltown in the mid-19th century. Generous donations from community members allow us to share this rural gem.